Why Education?

Educator Preparation at Westfield State University has been a vital and integral part of the University since its founding in 1839 by Horace Mann as the Westfield Normal School. We have a vibrant and engaged student body and faculty, who want you to have a top-notch and rewarding undergraduate experience in your quest to become a highly qualified teacher.

Why Westfield? Westfield State University is a leading institution in teacher education. The University education program is approved by the Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE).

The Education Department also serves community college students who wish to transfer into one of three majors offered by the Department: Early Childhood, Elementary and Special Education. The University has several transfer agreements with area community colleges.

Contact Us

Miriam Tager
Chair - Education Department
Parenzo Hall 216A

Academic Programs

Department Highlights


The Education Department’s mission is to prepare teachers who have the understanding, knowledge, and skills to engage critically with diversity, build inclusive learning communities, teach for social justice, and commit to ongoing inquiry, scholarship, and critical reflection as they work with diverse groups of children and families in urban, suburban, and rural school communities.


Westfield State University’s Education Department shares a vision, “Education Leaders Building Inclusive Learning Communities”, anchored by 5 foundational pillars related to critical engagement with diversity, community building, social justice teaching, scholarship, and reflection.We aspire to provide our students with an exemplary teacher education program grounded in principles of democratic education and the culturally sustaining and antiracist teaching practices that cultivate a thoughtful and ethically minded citizenry.